People

Current


Chuck Charles Rosenblatt Professor of Physics &
Ohio Eminent Scholar
rosenblatt@case.edu
Bryce Murray Bryce Murray
Graduate Student
bryce.murray@case.edu
Andrew
                Ferris Andrew Ferris
 Graduate student
andrew.ferris@case.edu
Adam
                Susser Adam Susser Graduate student
adam.susser@case.edu
Ray Adkins Raymond Adkins
Undergraduate Student
rayadkins715@gmail.com
Kevin Lu Gu Ran (Kevin) Lu
Undergraduate Student
gxl234@case.edu
Helen
                SunHelen Sun
High school student researcher
Hathaway-Brown School
hsun20@hb.edu


Alumni (Former Students, Postdocs, and Visiting Faculty)


Former Ph.D. Students
 
Zili Li Ph.D. 1990 Magneto and Electrooptic Study ofFerroelectricLiquid Crystals
now Senior R&D Mgr., Luxottica Optical
zli@luxotticaretail.com

Gregory DiLisi  Ph.D. 1992  Oligomeric Liquid Crystals: Viscoelastic Properties and Surface Interactions
now professor at John Carroll University, University Heights, OH
gdilisi@jcu.edu

Minhua Lu  Ph.D. 1992  Elasticity and Polarizations in Ferroelectric Liquid Crystals
now MTS at IBM Thomas Watson Research Center, Yorktown Hts., NY 
minhua@watson.ibm.com

Sanjay Tripathi Ph.D. 1995 Surfaces and Symmetries in LiquidCrystals
now MTS at L-3 Corp.
sanjay.tripathi@L-3com.com


Karl Crandall  Ph.D. 1996  Chirality and Interfacial Phenomenain Liquid Crystals
now network engineer at Darlington, Virginia
karlc@comcast.net


Jian-Feng Li Ph.D. 1997  Optical Studies of Molecular Architectureand Symmetry in Liquid Crystals
Institute of Fluid Phyiscs, the Chinese Acad. of Engineering Physics
jianfeng816@sohu.com

Daeseung Kang Ph.D. 1999 Surfaces and Chirality in Liquid Crystals
now Professor at Soongsil University, Seoul, Korea 
dkang@ssu.ac.kr


Milind Mahajan Ph.D. 2000 Interfacial and Gravitationally-Related Propertiesof Liquid Crystals and Other Fluids
now MTS at Teledyne Science Center, Thousand Oaks, CA
mpmahajan@rsc.rockwell.com

Shiyong Zhang Ph.D. 2001 Electrooptic Switching of Antiferroelectric Liquid Crystals
now MTS at General Digital
szhang@generaldigital.com


Wen Bing
Ph.D. 2003
Surface Control for Liquid Crystal Alignment
bxwen@yahoo.com

Now MTS at Qualcomm Corp.,
San Diego, California

 Reza Dodge

Ph.D. 2003
Electrooptical investigations of liquid crystalline mixtures
mrd@xray.kent.edu
now postdoc at CWRU

Neha M. Patel
Ph.D. 2004
Electrooptic studies of liquid crystalline phases and magnetically levitated aqueous bridges
neha.m.patel@intel.com

now MTS at Intel Corp., Phoenix, Ariz.

Ishtiaque M. Syed
Ph.D. 2006
Liquid Crystals on Modified Surfaces
ishtiaque75@gmail.com
now professor at University of  Dhaka, Bangladesh
Minhua Zhu
Ph.D. 2007
Liquid crystal tilt:  Control and consequences
now at University of California at San Francisco
mxz34@case.edu
Zhibin Huang
Ph.D. 2008
Threshold Phenomena in Soft Matter
now asst. prof. at East Carolina University
HUANGZ@ECU.EDU
Marie-Charlotte Renoult Ph.D. 2012 (with U. Paris 6)

Etude non-linéaire de l'instabilité de Rayleigh-Taylor par lévitation magnétique: du contrôle des conditions initiales au developpement de nouveaux outils d'analyse
now at Université du Havre, France
mc.renoult@gmail.com

Joel Pendery
Ph.D. 2014
Nanoscale Patterning and Imaging of Liquid Crystals and Colloids at Surfaces
now at Infoverity, an IT company
jsp83@case.edu
Ian Nemitz
Ph.D. 2016
Liquid Crystals:  Surfaces, Nanostructures, and Chirality
now MTS at NASA Glenn Research Center
ian.r.nemitz@nasa.gov



Former Postdocs

Robert B. Akins  Postdoctoral Fellow  now MTS at Motorola Corp., Chicago,IL 
era007@email.mot.com

Dong-Feng Gu Postdoctoral Fellow  now MTS at Rockwell Corp. ScienceCenter, Thousdand Oaks, CA 
dgu@scimail.risc.rockwell.com

John Zhong Postdoctoral Fellow  now MTS at Apple Computer, Cupertino,CA
jzhong@apple.com

Anjun (Larry/Jerry) Jin  Postdoctoral Fellow  now researcher at Center for Nanotechnology, NASA Ames Research Center
ajin@arc.nasa.gov

Jong-Hyun Kim Postdoctoral Fellow now professor at Choongnam University, South Korea
jxk97@cnu.ac.kr

Ghanshyam P. Sinha Postdoctoral Fellow now researcher at National Institutes of Health sinhag@nidcd.nih.gov

Tatsutoshi Shioda Postdoctoral Fellow
now professor at Saitama University, Japan
tshioda@mail.saitama-u.ac.jp

Giovanni Carbone
Postdoctoral Fellow
now MTS at Apple Computer Corp.
giovanni.carbone@gmail.com
Matthew Sousa
Postdoctoral Fellow
now MTS ar 3M Corp., Minneapolis, MN
mesousa@mmm.com
Valentin Barna
Postdoctoral Fellow
now at Unverisity of Bucharest, Romania
barnavalentin@yahoo.com
Antonio De Luca
Senior Postdoctoral Fellow
now associate professor at University of Calabria
antoniodelu@gmail.com

Ji-Hoon Lee Postdoctoral Fellow
now associate professor, Chonbuk Nat'l Univ.
jihoonlee@jbnu.ac.kr
Tim Atherton
Postdoctoral Fellow
now assistant professor at Tufts University
timothy.atherton@tufts.edu
Yoonseuk Choi
Postdoctoral Fellow
now assistant professor,  Hanbat Nat'l U., Daejeon, Korea
ychoi@hanbat.ac.kr
Sameh Ferjani
Postdoctoral Fellow
now researcher at University of Kansas Medical Center samehferjani1@gmail.com
Rajratan Basu Postdoctoral Fellow
now associate prof. at the U.S. Naval Academy
basu@usna.edu
Tsu-Chieh (Sophie) Lin
Postdoctoral Fellow
now MTS at SCI Engineered Materials, Inc.
tlin5@kent.edu



Former Visiting Faculty

Prof. Michael R. Fisch Visiting Professor (1992, 1996) now at Liquid Crystal Institute, Kent State Univ. 
mfisch@lci.kent.edu

Prof.Helen Gleeson Mather Visiting Professor (1997) back at University of Manchester, Manchester, U.K. 
helen.gleeson@man.ac.uk

Prof. Munehiro Kimura Visiting Research Scientist (1998-1999) back at Nagaoka University, Japan
nutkim@nagaokaut.ac.jp

 Daeseung Kang Visiting Professor (2006 - 2008)
back at Soongsil University, Seoul, Korea
dkang@ssu.ac.kr

Return